Dienstag, 29. Juli 2014
A new love....
... the other day I discovered a new wool and I have to admit it was not love at first sight. But first the details: The wool is by ito (http://www.ito-yarn.com), it's pure silk, with approx. 400m/50g. But because it is silk, the thread is not completely even, which makes it slightly less straightforward to knit. But the result is amazing. The pictures show the top I made from this dark blue thread before it is finished. In the meantime I did finish it and also wore it and it is just gorgeous. I had to put it on my kitchen scale, because I could not believe how light it is. It just has 95g(!) and for the extremely warm summer days it is just perfect. One can wear it and in the evening just wash it quickly in the sink and it will be dry two hours later. I promised myself to get some more of this wool and make one or two tops more. It is definitely worth the money and the pain with the thin needles and the ages it takes to knit the thin thread.

As soon as I manage, I will also add a picture of the final piece. But for now half of it has to suffice. It has been knitted in parallel again - so both parts are exactly the same:

50% of the new top.

The pattern on the sleeve unfortunately is not very prominent when it is being worn. I am still thinking of adding something (i.e. a pearl) to it.

... comment